Zeitschrift: IABSE bulletin = Bulletin AIPC = IVBH Bulletin

Band: 11 (1987)

Heft: B-42: IABSE bulletin

Vereinsnachrichten: Honours and distinctions presented to IABSE members

Nutzungsbedingungen

Die ETH-Bibliothek ist die Anbieterin der digitalisierten Zeitschriften. Sie besitzt keine Urheberrechte an den Zeitschriften und ist nicht verantwortlich für deren Inhalte. Die Rechte liegen in der Regel bei den Herausgebern beziehungsweise den externen Rechteinhabern. Siehe Rechtliche Hinweise.

Conditions d'utilisation

L'ETH Library est le fournisseur des revues numérisées. Elle ne détient aucun droit d'auteur sur les revues et n'est pas responsable de leur contenu. En règle générale, les droits sont détenus par les éditeurs ou les détenteurs de droits externes. <u>Voir Informations légales.</u>

Terms of use

The ETH Library is the provider of the digitised journals. It does not own any copyrights to the journals and is not responsible for their content. The rights usually lie with the publishers or the external rights holders. See Legal notice.

Download PDF: 12.04.2025

ETH-Bibliothek Zürich, E-Periodica, https://www.e-periodica.ch



5. Honours and Distinctions Presented to IABSE Members Honneurs et distinctions présentées à des membres de l'AIPC Ehrungen und Auszeichnungen an IVBH-Mitglieder

With this column we wish to give a more personal character to our IABSE BULLETIN. We invite all our members to contribute to this column by sending us appropriate information in English, French or German.

Nous désirons donner un caractère plus personnel à notre BULLETIN AIPC. Nous invitons nos membres à collaborer à cette rubrique par l'envoi d'informations appropriées en français, allemand ou anglais.

Mit dieser Rubrik möchten wir unserem IVBH BULLETIN einen persönlicheren Charakter verleihen. Wir laden alle unsere Mitglieder ein, für diese Rubrik entsprechendes Informationsmaterial in Deutsch, Englisch oder Französisch einzusenden.

Prof. Dr. **Moh. Shafik Aggour** was presented with the State Prize for Sciences in Egypt. M.S. Aggour has been Professor for Steel Structures at the Faculty of Engineering of the Cairo University since 1956.

Vitelmo V. Bertero, and three coauthors were presented with the Raymond C. Reese Structural Research Award of the American Concrete Institute, in March 1987. The Reese Award, given in memory of a past president of ACI, was presented to the authors of the paper, «Earthquake Simulator Tests Associated Experimental. Analytical, and Correlation Studies of One-Fifth Scale Model», published in an ACI special publication in 1985. V.V. Bertero is professor of civil engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, and has been on the faculty there for 28 years.

Dr. Reidar Bjorhovde of the University of Arizona, Tucson, has received the American Institute of Steel Construction's 1987 T.R. Higgins Lectureship Award. The Award recognizes Biorhovde for his work and publications on steel column design. A graduate of the Technical University of Norway in 1964, Dr. Biorhovde received his Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from Lehigh University, Bethlehem, PA in 1972. Since 1981 he has been Professor of Civil Engineering and Engineering Mechanics at the University of Arizona. In the fall of 1987, he will become Chairman of the Civil Engineering Department at the University of Pittsburgh.

The Arthur R. Anderson Award of the American Concrete Institute has been presented to John E. Breen of the University of Texas, Austin, Texas, in March 1987. Breen, who has been on the faculty at Texas since 1959, was cited for his «outstanding contributions to improving detailing provisions for design and construction of reinforced and prestressed concrete bridges». John E. Breen, Vice Chairman of Working Commission II of IABSE «Concrete Structures» will be a prominent speaker at the IABSE Symposium in Paris-Versailles, 2-4 September 1987 on «Concrete Structures for the Future».

Henry J. Cowan, Professor Emeritus of Architectural Science will be confered the Honorary Degree of Doctor of Architecture of the University of Sydney, NSW, Australia, on 13th June 1987. Professor Cowan is presently Chairman of Working Commission VII of IABSE, «Building Physics».

Lehigh University engineering professor, John W. Fisher, a leading expert on fatigue and fracture in bridges, buildings, and other steel structures, has been named «Construction's Man of the Year» by the News-Record Engineering magazine. A consultant to companies, governments and organizations worldwide, Dr. Fisher has investigated hundreds of structural failures. His «autopsies» include Connecticut's Mianus River Bridge in 1983 and Kansas City's Hyatt Regency walkway in 1981. In May 1986, Fisher was appointed director of the Engineering Research Center (ERC) for Advanced Technology for Large Structural Systems (ATLSS) at Lehigh. The Center is one of 11 selected by the National Science Foundation to address U.S. competitiveness in key technologies and the only one devoted to research in large structural systems.

In Tokyo on 3rd November 1986, which was a national holiday, Culture day, an annual ceremony was held in the Imperial Palace to bestow orders on those who had made important contributions to the country in the past year.

Professor **Masatane Kokubu** was one of the awardees and received the Second Class Order of the Sacred Treasure from his Highness the Emperor in recognition of his contributions to education and research in concrete engineering in Japan and international coordination in that field for many years.

Dr. Bruno Thürlimann, professor of structural engineering at Zurich's Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, has received the 1986 American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Ernest E. Howard Award for career achievements in applications for and research on structural engineering. Established in 1954 and named for an ASCE past president, the award is given annually to an ASCE member who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of structural engineering. In over 25 years of research at the Swiss insti-Prof. Thürlimann tute, developed theories on behaviour, strength and design of masonry structures and on plastic behaviour of pre-stressed and reinforced concrete structures. An ASCE Fellow, Bruno Thürlimann is Honorary President of IABSE.